Questions to Ask When You Shop Auto Insurance in San Francisco

Car insurance in San Francisco, CA, is required for every driver to drive legally. However, some people often pay more because they don’t ask questions to get lower rates. Here are some questions to ask an auto insurance provider when you shop for insurance.

What Are the State Minimums?

California requires at least liability car insurance in San Francisco, CA, to cover the other driver if you’re at fault. In California, you must buy a minimum of 15/30/5, which means $15,00 per person, $30,000 per accident, and $5,000 for property damage. However, if accident damages exceed the policy limits, the injured parties could sue you for the rest.

Do You Need Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage?

Uninsured motorists coverage is not a requirement, but it helps in case you get hit by drivers without coverage or not enough. It pays the difference between your policy and what you should have gotten from the other driver if they had coverage. Drivers must purchase a minimum 15/30/3500 in uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage, but you can buy more.

What Discounts Are Available?

The state requires providers to offer a minimum 20% discount who have been steady customers for three years. The law also requires them to offer discounts if you have one point or less on your driving record. High school or full-time college students with less than nine years of driving experience may qualify for good grade discounts.

Buying car insurance in California doesn’t have to cost more if you know what questions to ask. Visit Pennbrook Insurance Services at pennbrookins.com to get a free quote by email and learn more.