PIP Delays and Denials: What You Can Do When it Happens to You

by | Nov 29, 2019 | personal injury lawyer

Personal injury protection (PIP) is part of Florida’s no-fault insurance plan. Only about 10 states have such plans. The legislative intent for PIP coverage is to provide Florida drivers with immediate medical benefits in the event they’re involved in an accident. In PIP, they need not prove the other driver was at fault for an accident. When you purchase insurance for your vehicle in Miami, PIP becomes your car insurance personal injury protection in Miami. Minimum PIP insurance coverage in Florida is set at $10,000.

The fact that PIP coverage is required in Florida doesn’t mean you’re going to be treated fairly by your insurer. Sometimes, insurers don’t pay medical expenses or other benefits that are covered by PIP on a timely basis. At other times, they deny coverage. It’s the objective of the PIP attorneys here at Shuster & Saben to make sure you’re treated in accordance with Florida laws.

The general rule is that if you’re injured in an auto accident, you must file your PIP claim within 14 days. Your doctor might even submit the claim himself or herself. It must then be paid within 30 days of receipt. If you submit that bill, you might become the victim of unfair claim practices by the insurer. You can go through a business who will submit the bill on your behalf. When you do this, the insurer may think twice about delaying or denying payment. There are even many times when these companies represent doctors in connection with their PIP claims.

You work hard to pay for your car insurance personal injury protection in Miami. When you need it, you should expect your medical bills to be paid.

Latest Articles